Office of Graduate Studies

Graduate Studies Team

Meet the staff

 

Gwynne Keathley, Vice Provost for Research & Graduate Studies

410-225-5242  gkeathley@mica.edu 


 

Erin Jakowski, Associate Dean 

 410-225-5273  ejakowski@mica.edu 

  • Oversees graduate co-curricular activities and programming
  • Manages MICA Grad Show Season and Design
  • Graduate Office point person for student leave of absence and re-admission
  • Manages Graduate Competitive Fellowships and Residencies

 


 

Stacey Salazar, Interim Associate Dean for Curriculum and Assessment 

410-225-2541  ssalazar@mica.edu

  • Oversees graduate elective offerings, ELL and You+ coursework
  • Works with faculty to steward new approaches to curriculum and pedagogy reflective of the diversity within the student body, social justice, and multifaceted ways of learning
  • Supports faculty with assessment of student learning
  • Works with the Vice Provost to support new graduate program directors
  • Works with the Vice Provost to support the field-based graduate program directors
  • Oversees hiring and evaluation of part-time graduate faculty, Artists in Residence, and the Engineer in Residence.

 


 

LaShay Harvey, Graduate Enrollment Advisor 

410-225-4219  lharvey01@mica.edu 

  • Advises graduate students on all course registration matters, in-person, virtually, or via phone
  • Advocates for graduate students’ concerns with courses and programs
  • Discusses thesis projects and the most advantageous course structure to meet that end
  • Provides the necessary documents for and counsel on undergraduate course enrollment, independent study projects, Baltimore Student Exchange Program, etc.

 

Schedule an advising appointment with LaShay here 


 

Cristina Goncalves, Manager of Academic Operations 

410-225-5121  cgoncalves@mica.edu 

  • Supports Graduate Program Assistants
  • Oversees graduate program budgets & financial planning
  • Oversees Grad Mix Lecture Series
  • Oversees maintenance issues for graduate facilities
  • Coordinates student access lists

 


 

Drew Lundholm, Assistant Director 

410-225-7548  alundholm@mica.edu 

  • Coordinates Graduate Research Development Grants
  • Coordinates Leslie King-Hammond Fellowship Awards
  • Coordinates faculty contracts, course schedule building, and graduate elective faculty support
  • Organizes graduate faculty housing
  • Facilitates Visiting Artist Lecture Series
  • Collects and coordinates academic course material databases including course evaluations, assessment, and student thesis work

 


 

Malvina D'Alterio, Operations Coordinator 

410-225-4206  mdalterio@mica.edu 

  • First point of contact for MFAST, MFACA, MAAE, MAT, Rinehart, Illustration Practice, and MA in Illustration
  • Coordinates program budgets and financial paperwork for assigned programs
  • Coordinates maintenance issues for graduate facilities
  • Coordinates Studio Move-out
  • Coordinates low-residency degree program Summer Session and Winter Session

 


 

Amelia Szpiech, Program Coordinator 

410-225-5241  aszpiech@mica.edu

  • First point of contact for Curatorial Practice, Hoffberger, PEM, and Post Bac Fine Arts
  • Coordinates Fall and Summer Graduate Program Exhibitions
  • Coordinates and supports the MICA Grad Show Season of events
  • Coordinates Graduate Orientations
  • Coordinates Grad Open Studios

 


 

Phaan Howng, Program Coordinator 

410-225-4129  khowng@mica.edu 

  • First point of contact for Mt. Royal School of Art

 

Carly Karidias, Administrative Assistant 

410-225-5274  ckaridias@mica.edu 

  • Graduate Newsletter Submissions/Publication
  • Manages calendar for Vice Provost
  • Schedules meetings with Grad Office Staff
  • Assists with various events and office operations
  • Approves room requests for L 118
  • Supervises work study students
  • Collects syllabi for graduate courses